Saturday May 14, 2022

Long doubtful about their presence in Tulsa for the second major tournament of the year, Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson will finally be there for the PGA Championship (May 19-22). The two Americans are officially registered on the official list provided Monday by the PGA of America.

Pga Championship, schedule

Seen at the last Masters but enigmatic about his physical form following his 47th place in Augusta, Woods will therefore tee off in Oklahoma, on the Southern Hills course where he won the same tournament in 2007.

A route where he also went two weeks ago, to inspect the new operated and test his game. As for Mickelson, his entourage has long cast doubt on the defense of his title. Entangled in his histories of commitment to the Saudi Premier Golf League, the Californian had been withdrawn from professional golf since last February.

Finally, note that no French should be present. The USPGA commonly hosts the entire top 100 in the world, plus a few guests and twenty of America’s top golf teachers. The PGA Championship is an annual professional golf tournament organized by the PGA of America.

Betway MENA Sports $50 SOB banners

It is one of the four major tournaments on the circuit and is chronologically the second of the season, playing, starting from the 2019 edition, in the week preceding Memorial Day, in May. It is officially part of both the PGA Tour and the European Tour and the Japan Golf Tour.

The first edition of the PGA Championship was held at the Siwanoy Country Club in Bronxville, New York, in October 1916, 6 months after the founding of the PGA of America; this was born at the push of Rodman Wanamaker, an entrepreneur in the field of large-scale distribution who believed that the creation of an association of professional golfers would help the sale of golf equipment.

See also  Golf car, how to choose the best: useful tips

The tournament included a qualification phase, played with the stroke play formula, and the subsequent final phase played according to match play; in 1924 it was decided that the champion would be exempted from the qualifying round. In 1958, the current stroke play format was adopted, with 72 holes played in four days.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.