Which EFL players are going to the World Cup?

On Tuesday November 14, the final squads for the World Cup in Qatar will be confirmed by FIFA.

A total of 832 players will travel out to the Middle East for the tournament, with 27 squads having already been announced. Ecuador, Ghana, Iran, Mexico and Tunisia are yet to release their final 26-man squads.

From those 27 squads, 25 players from the Sky Bet Championship, League One and League Two, representing nine nations, currently make up three per cent of that total.

So who are they? We take a look…


Harry Souttar (Stoke), Bailey Wright (Sunderland), Riley McGree (Middlesbrough)

Australia's Riley McGree
Image: Australia’s Riley McGree


Olivier Ntcham (Swansea)

Image: Cameroon’s Olivier Ntcham


Junior Hoilett (Reading)

Canada's Junior Hoilett
Image: Canada’s Junior Hoilett

Costa Rica

Jewison Bennette (Sunderland)

Costa Rica's Jewison Bennette
Image: Costa Rica’s Jewison Bennette


Ilias Chair (QPR)

Image: Morocco’s Ilias Chair


Krystian Bielik (Birmingham)

Poland's Krystian Bielik
Image: Poland’s Krystian Bielik


Seny Dieng (QPR), Iliman Ndiaye (Sheffield United), Ismaila Sarr (Watford)

Iliman Ndiaye celebrates after equalising for Sheffield United against Burnley
Image: Senegal’s Iliman Ndiaye


Ethan Horvath (Luton), Josh Sargent (Norwich)

Image: USA’s Josh Sargent


Adam Davies (Sheff Utd), Ben Cabango (Swansea), Tom Lockyer (Luton), Chris Gunter (AFC Wimbledon), Connor Roberts (Burnley), Sorba Thomas (Huddersfield), Joe Allen (Swansea), Matthew Smith (MK Dons), Joe Morell (Portsmouth), Jonny Williams (Swindon), Rubin Colwill (Cardiff), Mark Harris (Cardiff)

Wales' Joe Allen
Image: Wales’ Joe Allen


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *